pri Constitution of Empowered Groups under Disaster Management Act 2005 Constitution of Empowered Groups under Disaster Management Act 2005

No. 40-3/2020-DM-I(A)
Government of India
Ministry of Home Affairs

North Block, New Delhi-110001
Dated 29th March, 2020


Subject: Constitution of the Empowered Groups under the Disaster Management Act 2005

The pandemic of COVID 19 has engulfed the entire world posing serious challenges for the health and economic security of millions of people worldwide. During this unprecedented situation for effectively addressing issues, constraints and scenarios, a well-planned and coordinated emergency response has become essential.

2. The measures taken hitherto have been effective in containing the pandemic so far. However, considering the gravity and magnitude of the challenges, which are emerging with every passing day, there is a pressing need to augment and synchronise efforts cutting across various Ministries/Departments. Keeping in view the need for such comprehensive action and integrated response, in exercise of the powers conferred under the section 10(2)(h) and (i) of the Disaster Management Act, 2005, the undersigned in the capacity as Chairperson, National Executive Committee, hereby constitute eleven Empowered Groups of Officers (as per Appendix). These Groups are empowered to identify problem areas and provide effective solutions therefor; delineate policy, formulate plans, strategize operations and take all necessary steps for effective and time-bound implementation of these plans/ policies/ strategies/ decisions in their respective areas.

3. In matters involving procurement, the Empowered Group shall take into consideration special instructions given to the Departments vide Department of Expenditure OM No. F.6/18/2019-PPD dated 27th March, 2020 and will take suitable decisions/ make recommendations in this regard. In such matters, the concerned Ministries/ Departments shall take immediate action to implement all the decisions/ recommendations of the Empowered Group.

4. During the deliberations, if any of the Empowered Groups is of the view that a particular aspect is not within the domain of that Group and falls within the scope of any other Group(s), they may seek the guidance of the Cabinet Secretary.

Home Secretary


Empowered Groups constituted vide Ministry of Home Affairs Order no No. 40-3/2020-DM-I(A) Dated 29.03.2020 for planning & ensuring implementation of Covid-19 Response Activities

1 Medical Emergency Management Plan Dr. V Paul, Member NITI Aayog Dr. Renu Swaroop, Secy, DBT

Dr. V.Thiruppugazh, NDMA

Lay Agarwal, JS, Health

Dr. Amandeep Garg, JS,Cabinet Sect Rajender Kumar, Director, PMO

2 Availability of Hospitals,

Isolation & Quarantine

Facilities, Disease Surveillance & Testing and critical care training

C K Mishra, Secy, EF&CC Vinod Yadav, Chairman, RB

Dr. Randeep Guleria, Director AIIMS

Dr. Raman R Gangakhedkar, Head ECD, ICMR

Jiwesh Nandan, AS, Defence Rachna Shah, AS,Cabinet Sect Vikas Sheel, JS, Health

Shrikhar Pardeshi, JS / Mayur Maheshwari, Director, PMO

3 Ensuring Availability of

essential medical equipment such as PPE, Masks, Gloves & Ventilators; Production, Procurement, Import & Distribution

P.D.Vaghela, Secy, Pharmaceuticals Guru Mohapatra, Secy, DPIIT

Ravi Capoor, Secy, Textiles

Dr. G. Satheesh Reddy, Secretary, DRDO

M. Ajit Kumar, Chairman, CBIC

Naveen Shrivastav, JS, MEA

Anu Nagar, JS, DHR

Mandeep Bhandari, JS, Health

Piyush Goel, JS, Home

A Giridhar, AS, Cabinet Sect

AK Sharma, AS/ Rohit Yadav, JS,PMO

4 Augmenting Human Resources & Capacity Building Arun Panda, Secy MSME

R. S. Shukla, Secy Parl. Affairs Rajesh Kotecha, Secy, AYUSH Arun Singhal, Spl. Secy, Health Rakesh Kumar Vats, Secretary, NMC Dr. Ravindran, EMR

Pankaj Aggarwal, JS, Cabinet Sect V. Sheshadri, JS, PMO

5 Facilitating Supply Chain & Logistics Management for availability of necessary items such as Food & Medicines Parameswaran Iyer, Secy, DWS Rajender Singh, Member, NDMA Ravi Kant, Secy, F&PD

Pawan Kumar Agarwal, Secy, Consumer.Affairs

N. N. Sinha, Secy, Border Management Ashok Pandey, Member, CBIC

N. Sivasailam, Spl Secy., Logistics &Commerce

AVM Jha, JS, Air (Defence) Usha Padhee, JS, Civil Aviation Ashutosh Jindal, JS, Cabinet Sect. Tarun Bajaj, AS, PMO

6 Coordinating with Private Sector, NGOs & International Organizations for response related activities Amitabh Kant, CEO, NIT! Aayog

Dr. Vijayaraghavan, PSA

Kamal Kishore,Member, NDMA

Sandeep Mohan Bhatnagar, Member, CBIC

Anil Malik, AS, MHA

Tina Soni, DS, Cabinet Sect

Gopal Baglay, JS, PMO / Aishvarya Singh, DS, PMO

7 Economic & Welfare measures Atanu Chakraborty, Secy, DEA

T.V. Somnathan, Secy Exp

Hiralal Samariya Secy, Labour

Rajesh Bhushan, Secy, RD

Pankaj Jain Addl. Secy, DFS

Amrapali Kata, DS, Cabinet Sect

Arvind Shrivastava, JS / Kavitha Padmanabhan, Director, PMO

8 Information, Communication & Public Awareness Ravi Mittal, Secy, I&B

Sunil Kumar,Secy, PR

Syed Ata Hasnain, Member, NDMA

Punya Salila Srivastava, JS, Home

Padmaja Singh, JS, Health

Sandeep Sarkar, JS, Cabinet Sect

Gopal Baglay, JS /Hiren Joshi, OSD / Pratik Mathur, DS, PMO

9 Technology & Data Management Ajay Sawhney, Secy, MEITY

Anshu Prakash, Secy, DoT

G S Toteja, ADG, ICMR

N Yuvraj, DS, Health

Bharat H Khera, JS, Cabinet Sect

Pratik Doshi, OSD/Manharsinh Yadav, DS / Hardik Shah, DS, PMO

10 Public Grievances & Suggestions Amit Khare, Secy HRD K.Shivaji, Secy, DAPRG Ashutosh Agnihotri,JS, MHA

Meera Mohanty, Director,Cabinet Sect.

Saurabh Shukla, Director / Abhishek Shukla, DS, PMO

11 Strategic issues relating to Lockdown Ajay Kumar Bhalla, Secretary, Home

Dr. V Paul, Member NITI Aayog

V.P. Joy, Secretary, Coordination, Cabinet Sect.

A. K. Sharma, AS / Arvind Shrivastava, JS / Abhishekh Shukla, DS, PMO

More Under Corporate Law

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search Posts by Date

July 2021