Follow Us :

F.No. 312/46/2017-OT
Government of India
Ministry of Finance
Central Board of Direct Taxes

New Delhi, Dated: 27th September, 2017


All Principal Chief Commissioners of Income Tax.

Sir/ Madam,

Sub: Allocation of targets for adding new I-T return filers during FY 2017-18.

Kindly refer to discussions during the Rajaswa Gyan Sangam- 2017 where it was decided that focused efforts will be made by the Department to significantly increase the tax base during the current financial year. It has now been decided by the Board that an all-India target of adding 1.25 crore new income-tax return filers may be set for FY 2016- 17 to concentrate efforts of the Department to this critical key result area.

2. In order to distribute the target among st the Pr. CCIT Regions, the following parameters/ criteria have been taken into consideration:

(i) The number of new return filers added during FY 2016- 17.

(ii) The size of current tax base (number of existing return filers).

(iii) Number of potential non-filers under NMS under categories P1, P2 and P3.

3. After assigning due weight to each parameter, the targets for different Regions are worked out as under:

Region Target for new return filers for
FY 2017-18
Region Target for new return filers for
FY 2017-18
JAIPUR 580261
AHMEDABAD 941123 KANPUR 616725
BANGALORE 876846 KOCHI 362156
BHOPAL 620925 KOLKATA 697685
CHANDIGARH 1041948 MUMBAI 740741
CHENNAI 1047702 NAGPUR 211922
DELHI 727367 PATNA 502132
GUWAHATI 254948 PUNE 1182532
HYDERABAD 1239486 Total 12500000

4. It may kindly be noted that these targets are in respect of number of new return filers and not number of new taxpayers and. therefore, the number of new taxpayers who have tax credit in Form 26AS but have not filed return, will not be counted towards achievement of the target. A ‘new return filer‘ for this purpose is defined as a person who has not filed return in the previous three Financial Years (2014- 15 to 2016- 17) but has filed return in the current financial year.

This issues with the approval of Chairman, CBDT.

Yours faithfully,

(Anand Jha)
Commissioner (IT& CT)
Ph: 2309 2153

Copy to:

1. Chairman and all Members of the Board.

2. All Joint Secretaries and Commissioners of the Board.

3. PR. DGIT (Systems) and Pr. DGIT (Admin).

4. ADG (Systems)-II.

5. Guard File.

6. Web manager, IRSofficersonline.

Join Taxguru’s Network for Latest updates on Income Tax, GST, Company Law, Corporate Laws and other related subjects.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search Post by Date
April 2024