Introduction: The Ministry of Finance, Department of Revenue, Central Board of Direct Taxes, has issued Notification No. 12/2024-Income Tax on 19th January, 2024. The notification highlights the necessity of summoning witnesses for the departmental inquiry concerning Shri S. Sarath, a retired Income Tax Officer.

Detailed Analysis: The notification outlines the Central Government’s opinion on the importance of summoning specific individuals as witnesses for the inquiry. The witnesses include Sh.Vinod P S Shibu, Sh. Ajayan, Sh. Raju, Y. Hari Kumar (Retd.) Addl. Sup. of Police, CBI/ACB, Bengaluru, Sh. Satheesh Kumar M M, Sh. Bijumon M G, Sh. Binesh Jacob Mathew, Sh. Joy Thomas, Sh. Manu M S, Sh. Thomas Kurien, and Sh. B. Govindan.

The authorized exercise of power under section 4 of the Departmental Inquiries (Enforcement of Attendance of Witnesses and Production of Documents) Act, 1972, allows the inquiring authority to summon and enforce the attendance of witnesses. The specified individuals are to be examined on oath in relation to the departmental inquiry concerning Shri S. Sarath.

The notification further provides details such as the residential addresses of the summoned witnesses. This inclusion aims to ensure a smooth and efficient inquiry process.

Conclusion: In conclusion, Notification No. 12/2024 serves as a crucial document in the ongoing departmental inquiry related to Shri S. Sarath, a retired Income Tax Officer. The summoning of witnesses, along with the authorized powers granted to the inquiring authority, reflects the commitment to a fair and thorough investigation. Stakeholders and interested parties can refer to this notification for insights into the procedural aspects of the inquiry and the individuals involved in the process.


(Department of Revenue)

Notification No. 12/2024-Income Tax | Dated: 19th January, 2024

S.O. 311(E).WHEREAS, the Central Government is of the opinion that for the purpose of departmental inquiry relating to Shri S. Sarath(Retd.), Income Tax Officer, (Charged Officer), it is necessary to summon as witnesses, namely, (1) Sh.Vinod P S Shibu S/o P.K. Sreedharan, R/o Pezhuvelil home, Vadavathoor P.O. , Kottayam, Pin- 686019; (2) Sh. Ajayan S/o Sh. A.N. Gopalan, R/o Valechria Kumarakom P.O., Kottayam; (3) Sh. Raju, S/o Sh. Appukkuttan Nair, R/o Kunnil Veedu, Manntodi, Veiloor, Murkkupuzha P.O., Thiruvananthapuram (Nityananda Madom, Chilambil, Sasthavattom. P.O., Thiruvananthapuram); (4) Y. Hari Kumar (Retd.) Addl. Sup. of Police, CBI/ACB, Bengaluru R/o Revathy house No. 209, Ward No. 4, Krishnapuram Village, Pullikkanakku, Kayamkulam Alappuzha, Pin-690573; (5) Sh. Satheesh Kumar M M, R/o Mannuserril house, Amalagiri P.O., Kottayam, Pin- 686561; (6) Sh. Bijumon M G, R/o Mundackal house, Cheruvandoor, Ettumanoor P.O., Kottayam, Pin- 686631; (7) Sh. Binesh Jacob Mathew, R/o Manamthadathil house, Pattithanam, P.O. Etturmannoor, Kottayam, Pin- 686631; (8) Sh. Joy Thomas, Prop. M/s Powath Jewellers, R/o Powath house, Kumarakom, P.O., Kottayam; (9) Sh. Manu M S, S/o Sh. Soman. K, R/o Mangala Mukidiyil, Mudiyoorkonam, P.O. Pandalam, Pathanamthitta; (10) Sh. Thomas Kurien, Finance and Administrative, Manager and Cashier M/s Vellapally Brothers R/o Vattackattu house, Pakkil P.O., Kottayam, District- 686012, Kerala; and (11) Sh. B. Govindan, S/o Late Sh. Bheema Bhatter, Chairman & Managing Director, M/s Bhima Jewellers, Thiruvananthapuram, R/o Krishaana, Bell Heaven Gardens, H.No. 38 Kowdiar, Trivandrum.

NOW, THEREFORE, in exercise of the power conferred by sub-section(1) of section 4 of the Departmental Inquiries (Enforcement of Attendance of Witnesses and Production of Documents) Act, 1972, the Central Government hereby authorises the inquiring authority to exercise the power specified in the section 5 of the Act in respect of the summoning and enforcing the attendance of witnesses and examining them on oath in relation to witnesses namely (1) Sh.Vinod P S Shibu; (2) Sh. Ajayan; (3) Sh. Raju; (4) Y. Hari Kumar; (5) Sh. Satheesh Kumar M M; (6) Sh. Bijumon M G; (7) Sh. Binesh Jacob Mathew; (8) Sh. Joy Thomas; (9) Sh. Manu M S; (10) Sh. Thomas Kurien; and (11) Sh. B. Govindan.

[Notification No. 12/2024/ F.No. C-14011/46/2018-V&L]

Dr. VIVEK NANDAN, Under Secy.

Join Taxguru’s Network for Latest updates on Income Tax, GST, Company Law, Corporate Laws and other related subjects.

Join us on Whatsapp

taxguru on whatsapp GROUP LINK

Join us on Telegram

taxguru on telegram GROUP LINK

Download our App


More Under Income Tax

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search Posts by Date

February 2024