CMA Balwinder SinghCMA Balwinder Singh has been elected as President of The Institute of Cost Accountants of India for the period 2019-2020.

CMA Balwinder Singh is a Fellow Member of the Institute of Cost Accountants of India. He is also Fellow Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India, Associate Member of the Institution of Valuers, Licentiate of Insurance Institute of India, Information System Auditor and Certified Arbitrator.

He qualified in the year 1996 and is a leading practising Cost Accountant. He has been actively associated with the Institute in various capacities since the year 1998. He is Central Council Member (2015-19) of the Institute of Cost Accountants of India. Earlier also he has been Central Council Member of the Institute of Cost Accountants of India during the term 2007-11. Earlier to this, he has been Chairman, Chandigarh Chapter of the Institute of Cost Accountants of India during the year 2006-07.

He has been Chairman, Cost Accounting Standards Board during the year 2015-16 and 2016-17.

He has been Chairman (2007-08, 2008-09) of Members Facilities & Services Committee, Chairman (2009-10) of Board for Training of Accounting Technitions and Chairman (2010-11) of Regional Councils & Branches Co-ordination Committee.

He has also been Member, Cost Auditing & Assurance Standards Board, Taxation Committee, Corporate Laws Committee, Finance Committee, Executive Committee, Examination Committee and Member of various other committees of the Institute.

He represented in 17th Board meeting of Confederation of Asian & Pacific Accountants (CAPA) held in May, 2009 at Canada

He represented in First Accounting Standards Meet for IFAC-International Federation of Accountants in Nov 2010 at Sri Lanka

He has been Member, Committee of Government of India, Ministry of Corporate Affairs on the revision of Depreciation rates prescribed under the Companies Act during the year 2008 & 2009

He has been Member, Committee on “Effect of IFRS on Indian Railways Finance Corporation”, PSU under Ministry of Railways

He has been Member, SAFA: South Asian Federation of Accountants’ Committee on Accounting & Auditing Standards, an apex body of SAARC from the year 2008 till 2011. Presently, he is member of SAFA Committee on Professional Ethics Independence since the year 2015-16.

He has been Member of Accounting Standards Board from the year 2008 till 2010.

He is Expert Speaker on Accounting Standards for the last 21 years and has addressed large number of sessions on Accounting Standards, Cost Accounting Standards and IFRS at various professional plaforms and corporate houses.

He is Author of publication on Conceptual Clarity on Accounting Standards (including comparison with IFRS).

Vice President

CMA Biswarup BasuCMA Biswarup Basu has been elected as Vice President of the Institute for the period 2019-2020

  • CMA Biswarup Basu is a Fellow Member of the Institute of Cost Accountants of India and an alumnus of South Point High School, Kolkata.
  • He started his Professional career in 1985 as Management Trainee in a Multinational Company of repute and thereafter joined Bharat Coking Coal Limited in 1988 as Finance Officer. Subsequently he joined a wholly owned company of Government of West Bengal where he served for 29 years. He has a total stint of 34 years of Industrial exposure.
  • He was elected to the Central Council of the Institute for the term 2015 – 2019 as Central Council Member of the Institute.
  • He served the profession as the Chairman of Members’ Services & Facilities Committee (2015-16 & 2016-17), Journal & Publications Committee (2017-18) & Members in Industry Committee (2018-19). During his tenure he has taken several initiatives that would increase the scope and development of the profession.
  • Additionally, he was member of the Finance Committee in the year 2015-16 and member of the Examination Committee for year 2016-17, 2017-18 and 2018-19.
  • He had the privilege of serving the profession as a Member of the Eastern India Regional Council (EIRC) for 3 terms viz.1995-98, 1998-2001, 2004-2007 in various capacities; as Treasurer (1995-96 & 1996-97), Secretary (1996-97 & 1997-98) and Vice Chairman during the period 2000-01.
  • He has been re-elected to the Central Council for the term 2019-23.

More Under CA, CS, CMA

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search Posts by Date

May 2021