Introduction: In a bid to bolster the security measures of the Goods and Services Tax Network (GSTN) portal, taxpayers are set to experience a significant upgrade. The introduction of Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) marks a pivotal step towards ensuring a more secure and robust login process. This advisory details the phased implementation, the role of One-Time Passwords (OTPs), and essential updates for taxpayers.

Detailed Analysis:

1. Successful Pilot Rollout: The initial rollout of 2FA in the state of Haryana has proven to be a success, operating seamlessly and effectively. Buoyed by this accomplishment, the implementation is set to advance in a phased manner. The first phase will see 2FA introduced in Punjab, Chandigarh, Uttarakhand, Rajasthan, and Delhi, ensuring a gradual integration and addressing any potential challenges.

2. One-Time Password (OTP) Security: Under the 2FA system, taxpayers will encounter an additional layer of security in the form of a One-Time Password (OTP). This OTP will be sent to the registered Mobile Number and Email ID of the Primary Authorized Signatory after entering the user ID and password. It acts as a dynamic verification code, fortifying the login process and mitigating the risk of unauthorized access.

3. Updated Contact Information: Taxpayers are urged to keep their contact details, specifically the email and mobile number of the authorized signatory, up-to-date on the GST Portal. This ensures the smooth receipt of OTP communications. The OTP will only be requested when there is a change in the taxpayer’s system (desktop, laptop, or browser) and location, adding an extra layer of security without causing undue inconvenience.

Two-factor Authentication for Taxpayers

4. Scheduled Rollout: Commencing from the 1st of December 2023, the phased rollout of the 2FA solution will begin, starting with specific states and eventually encompassing the entirety of India. This strategic rollout schedule aims to streamline the implementation process, providing taxpayers with adequate time to adapt to the enhanced security features.

Conclusion: As Team GSTN introduces Two-Factor Authentication, taxpayers are encouraged to embrace this enhanced security measure for the GST portal. The phased rollout, coupled with the use of OTPs and updated contact information, ensures a more secure tax-filing experience. By staying informed and proactively managing their details, taxpayers can contribute to a seamless and protected digital environment. The scheduled rollout from December 1, 2023, marks a significant milestone in fortifying the integrity of the GSTN portal. Thank you for your cooperation in this crucial endeavor.


Advisory: Two-factor Authentication for Taxpayers

Dear Taxpayers,

1.  GSTN is introducing two-factor authentication (2FA) for taxpayers to strengthen the login security in GST portal. The pilot rollout has been done for a state of Haryana and working seamlessly. Currently, 2FA will be rolled out for Punjab, Chandigarh, Uttarakhand, Rajasthan and Delhi in 1st phase. In 2nd phase, it is planned to be rolled out all states across India.

2.  Taxpayers would need to provide one-time password (OTP) post entering user id and password, the OTP will be delivered to their Primary Authorized Signatory “Mobile number and E-mail id”.

3.  Tax-payers are requested to keep their email and mobile number of authorized signatory updated on the GST Portal for receiving the OTP communication. This OTP would only be asked, in case the tax-payer changes the system (desktop or laptop or browser) and location.

4.  The solution would be rolled out from 1st of December’2023.

Thanking you,
Team GSTN | 01/12/2023

Join Taxguru’s Network for Latest updates on Income Tax, GST, Company Law, Corporate Laws and other related subjects.

Join us on Whatsapp

taxguru on whatsapp GROUP LINK

Join us on Telegram

taxguru on telegram GROUP LINK

Download our App


More Under Goods and Services Tax

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search Posts by Date

February 2024