Karnataka today became the first state in the country to launch an e-payment system for commercial tax payers. Speaking at the launch, Reserve Bank of India Deputy Governor Shyamala Gopinath wanted such a system to be adopted by other states. The system enables dealers to remit their commercial taxes anytime, anywhere, without physically approaching an office of the Commercial Taxes Department (CTD).
Right now, e-remittances can be made from six banks — SBI, SBM, SBH, Syndicate Bank, Canara Bank and Union Bank of India.

Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa said more public sector banks would be added to the list going forward. He said the system would also help curb tax evasion.

Gopinath launched the reconciliation portal of the CTD.

More Under Goods and Services Tax

Posted Under

Category : Goods and Services Tax (6851)
Type : News (13636)

0 responses to “Karnataka launches e-payment for commercial tax payers”

  1. Shailesh says:

    E payment for commercial taxes is already in vouge in maharashtra since long time. Infact it has been made mandatory for all the VAT peyees.

  2. V G Venugopal says:

    This was introduced in the state of Kerala long time back – from 01-04-2010

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *