The GST Council was constituted on 15th September 2016 under Article 279A of the Constitution. It consists of the Union Finance Minister (Chairperson), Union Minister of State in charge of the Revenue or Finance and the Minister in charge of Finance or Taxation or any other Minister nominated by each State Government. Union Revenue Secretary is the ex-officio Secretary to the GST Council. The working of GST Council has ushered in a New Phase of Cooperative Federalism where the Central and the State Governments work together to take collective decisions on all issues relating to Indirect Tax regime of the country.

In the journey GST Council has touched following milestones so far:

Number of Meetings of GST Council 34
Number of Meetings of GST Council Prior to implement of GST (prior to 01.07.2017) 17


Number of Meetings of GST Council Post implement of GST (after 01.07.2017) 17
Number of decisions taken by GST Council 1064
Number of Pages in the Agenda Notes for the Meetings of GST Council 5685
Number of Pages in the Minutes of Meetings of GST Council 1671
Number of Notifications Issued by the Central Government to implement decisions of GST Council
Central Tax Notifications: 178
Central Tax Rate Notifications: 87
(Note—Almost equal number of corresponding SGST Notifications have been issued by each State.)
IGST/UTGST Tax Notifications: 56
IGST/UTGST Tax Rate Notifications:: 186
Number of Circulars issued by the Central Government 213
Number of Orders issued by the Central Government 15

Source- – Newsletter

More Under Goods and Services Tax

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search Posts by Date

March 2021