Reserve Bank of India

Date : Jan 08, 2019

Committee on Deepening of Digital Payments

With a view to encourage digitisation of payments and enhance financial inclusion through digitisation, the Reserve Bank of India has decided to constitute a High-Level Committee on Deepening of Digital Payments. The composition of the Committee is as under:

1 Shri Nandan Nilekani
Former Chairman, Unique Identification Authority of India
2 Shri H.R. Khan
Former Deputy Governor, Reserve Bank of India
3 Shri Kishore Sansi
Former Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer, Vijaya Bank
4 Smt. Aruna Sharma
Former Secretary, Ministry of Information Technology and Steel
5 Shri Sanjay Jain
Chief Innovation Officer, Center for Innovation, Incubation & Entrepreneurship (CIIE), IIM Ahmedabad

The Terms of Reference of the Committee are as under:

a. To review the existing status of digitisation of payments in the country, identify the current gaps in the ecosystem and suggest ways to bridge them;

b. To assess the current levels of digital payments in financial inclusion;

c. To undertake cross country analyses with a view to identify best practices that can be adopted in our country to accelerate digitisation of the economy and financial inclusion through greater use of digital payments;

d. Suggest measures to strengthen the safety and security of digital payments;

e. To provide a road map for increasing customer confidence and trust while accessing financial services through digital modes;

f. To suggest a medium-term strategy for deepening of digital payments;

g. Any other related item of importance.

The Committee shall submit its report within a period of 90 days from the date of its first meeting.

Jose J. Kattoor
Chief General Manager

Press Release: 2018-2019/1590

More Under Fema / RBI

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *