Former Infosys co-chair Nandan Nilekani will head a committee that will recommend to the finance ministry on how best to tap information technology for an effective tax administration and financial governance system. Called the technical advisory group for unique projects, the panel has been given a time frame of six months to make its suggestions, a finance ministry communique said Monday.

Online GST Certification Course by TaxGuru & MSME- Click here to Join

It will address issues such as manpower requirement, modification of rules, allocation of responsibilities, fixing of commercial terms for competitive bidding, coordination among federal, state and local governments and IT security challenges.

The other members are IT Secretary R. Chandrasekhar, markets regulatory chief C.B. Bhave, former pension regulator Dhirendra Swarup, former member of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) S.S. Khan, former member of the Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC) P.R.V Ramanan, and ICICI Foundation president Nachiket Mor.

More Under Income Tax

Posted Under

Category : Income Tax (25160)
Type : News (12613)
Tags : CBDT (675) CBEC (375) finance minister (509)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *